We've all been there. The project is moving along as expected, and then the unexpected happens.
You need to add additional materials and/or labour but the invoice has already been signed and you know that editing the invoice will remove the signature, and creating another invoice makes it harder for you and your customer to keep track of what's really going on.
With Change Orders, you can ensure you and your client are always on the same page.
Adding a Change Order is just as easy as adding a line item. Your original invoice remains intact, while the changes are appended as a new page, keeping everything clean and organized. You can even have your client sign on the Change Order for added peace of mind.
Adding a Change Order
To add a Change Order, open your existing invoice in Joist, then tap the Green Circle in the bottom right corner. From the list that appears, tap Change Orders.
From the Change Order screen, tap the ADD CHANGES button -- this is just like adding a line item, and you can add as many items as needed.
You can turn the options for signatures on or off here, as well as edit the date of the change order.
When done, save your Change Order by tapping the Checkmark button in the top right.
The Change Order will be appended to the invoice as a new page and is ready to be sent to your client.
You can include multiple items in a single Change Order, and you can include multiple Change Orders in a single Invoice.
Sending and Editing a Change Order
Now that you've added the Change Order to the original invoice, you can send it over to your client for approval.
Note: It is generally recommended to discuss any changes to the project with the client before sending them a Change Order. Once you and the client have agreed on the changes, the Change Order serves as clear documentation you can both refer back to at any time.
Open the invoice you've added the Change Order to, then tap the Green Circle in the bottom right corner, then tap Change Orders.
Here you will see any Change Orders that have been added to the invoice in a convenient summary format. Each summary contains buttons to Edit and Send the Change Order.
Tapping Send will give you the option to send the Change Order to your client by email or SMS, just like you would with an estimate or invoice.
If you need to make changes at any time, tap the Edit button. Note that if the Change Order has been signed, editing the Change Order will remove the customer's signature.
What the client sees
When your client receives and opens the Change Order, they will find the Change Total and the option to Sign Change Order (if enabled on your end) at the top of the screen for easy access. There are also instructions provided to scroll down to see the Change Order details beneath the invoice.
On the final page, an Overall Summary is presented, outlining the Subtotal of the original invoice, any Change Orders that have been added, and the Total.
Deleting a Change Order
To permanently remove a Change Order from your invoice, first open the invoice you've added the Change Order to, then tap the Green Circle in the bottom right corner, then tap Change Orders.
From the summary view, tap the three dots button in the bottom right of the Change Order to reveal the option to delete it.
Once deleted, the Change Order and any references to it will be removed from the invoice.