When you upgrade from your existing plan to a higher-tier plan, the balance of time remaining on your existing plan is fully accounted for, and you'll be compensated for this balance.
Here are all the scenarios where the time remaining on your current plan will be accounted for when you upgrade:
Your current plan | The cost of time remaining will be applied when you upgrade to |
Basics (Monthly or Annual) | Pro (Monthly or Annual), Elite (Monthly or Annual), or Run (Monthly or Annual) |
Pro (Monthly or Annual) | Elite (Monthly or Annual) or Run (Monthly or Annual) |
Elite (Monthly or Annual) | Run (Monthly or Annual) |
In order for this to work, you must upgrade using the same platform/device (iOS, Android, or Web) that you originally used to purchase your plan.
See the specifics for your platform/device below:
Web
For iOS devices:
Any remaining balance for your existing plan will be refunded back to your Apple Account's payment method. Your new, upgraded plan will begin immediately at the full plan price.
For Android devices:
The remaining balance on your existing plan will be used first, and you won’t be charged for your new plan immediately. After the remaining balance is used up, your new plan will begin.
For example, if you upgrade from Pro Annual to Elite Annual half-way through your plan period, the remaining balance Pro will be converted to time on your Elite plan. Once that balance runs out, a new annual plan will begin for Elite.
On the Web (laptop/desktop computer):
The remaining balance for your existing plan will be applied as a discount to the cost of your new plan.
Please note, you'll always see the full price for your new plan listed in the app when going through the upgrade process. You'll see the discount listed on the receipt sent to you by email immediately after you upgrade.
FAQs
Can I switch my billing cycle from monthly to annual within the same plan?
Switching billing cycles (from monthly to annual or from annual to monthly) within the same plan is currently not supported while your plan is active.
If you cancel your plan, you can switch to your preferred billing cycle after your current billing period ends by resubscribing to the same plan.
Do I get compensated if I switch my billing cycle from monthly to annual within the same plan?
Since your current plan must run until the end of its billing period before switching, there is no unused plan time to account for when changing billing cycles within the same plan. This means that no refund or compensation will need to be applied.
Do I get compensated if I switch my billing cycle from annual to monthly within the same plan?
Since your current plan must run until the end of its billing period before switching, there is no unused plan time to account for when changing billing cycles within the same plan. This means that no refund or compensation will need to be applied .
If you are having trouble with your plan, please email us at hello@joist.com or reach out through the in-app live chat so we can help out!